Common Life in India – Everyone starts their day with Yoga “Pun Intended”

Everyone outside India thinks that everyone in India is some kind of Yoga Guru. Actually this is not really true, though a lot of Indians do yoga not everyone is inclined towards the traditional art of exercise and meditation.

Today in the morning when I was standing in the balcony sipping a cup of tea, I saw these females in the garden practicing Yoga. That very moment this thought came to my mind that I have to write about it in my Blog.

Edit_Yoga1

Yoga is a very powerful medium of spiritual, physical and mental discipline which has its origin in ancient India. It is not very simple and should be done only under the guidance of a certified Yoga teacher. That said there is one form yoga which is simple and needs only a couple of minutes and can be incorporated very easily in our day today life.

Surya Namaskar the simplest yet very powerful set of movements which targets the whole body and balances the mind. Surya Namaskar which means salute to the sun is a set of asana (movements) which are usually practiced at the beginning of the Yoga exercises. I have always been told by my grandmom and mom that this is very simple powerful yoga exercise which everyone should imbibe in their lives.

Curious what it is exactly? Here you go —

Surya-namaskar-step-by-step-guide

Here is a detailed link you can refer to as well –

Surya Namaskar – In Humble Adoration to the Rising Sun*Sun Salutation (Surya Namaskar) :: Poster For Step By Step Instructions

You should do repetition of this complete set of movements atleast 10 times and gradually increase it to see great results on your mind and body.

I am starting a new series of posts trying to portray the common life in India which would help answer the few basic questions which I have been always asked while living abroad. Your suggestions and comments and opinions are very precious and would help and inspire me on this journey so please let me know what you think about it.

Also do not forget to tell me how you find this post.

2 thoughts on “Common Life in India – Everyone starts their day with Yoga “Pun Intended”

  1. Hey Sapana,
    I love your blog. You are a great writer and i like how you share your impression with us.
    Who does your pictures? There are awsome.
    I hope it is ok, that i “try” to write you in english (I need more practice 🙂 )

    Have a great time.

    With love
    Jana

    • Hi Jana,
      Thank you soo much for your lovely words. I am happy that you are reading the blog and answering in English. Practice makes one perfect, so this would definately improve your english language skills 🙂

      To answer your question, I am clicking the pictures and trying hard to be better at it, and really happy that you liked them.

      I hope you and Martin are doing great…. Miss you and Marion…take care, Hugs and Kisses

Leave a Reply

